Zaheer threatens, conquers, leaves

London: Indian pace spearhead Zaheer Khan suffered a hamstring injury in the first day of the opening Test of the 4 match Test series. The fast bowler had to leave the field in his 3rd spell, having bowled 13.3 overs giving away just 18 runs. This is serious concern for the Indian camp as he looked unplayable in the seaming overcast conditions.

Before that Zaheer had dismissed both the England openers and was bowling superbly in pace friendly conditions. His spell of 13.3 overs has everything that a fast bowler can offer, moving the ball in and out at will, reverse swinging at times and bowling the odd short delivery which spelled the downfall of Andrew Strauss.

Before that he trapped Alastair Cook plumb in front, foxing him by bowling five out swingers before bowling the one that came in. Arguably the best fast bowler in world cricket today, Zaheer created all sorts of problems for the English batsman. Before going off the field he nearly got Trott caught behind the stumps, but the ball went through the wicketkeeper Dhoni and Dravid at slips.

There is no confirm news about the seriousness of his injury but if he is not available for the rest of the test/series it could turn out to be a huge blow to India's chances in the game and also in the series. As former England all rounder Andrew Flintoff tweeted soon after Zaheer left the ground, "If Zaheer doesn't come back on there goes the number 1 spot."

Lord's Test: Zaheer removes Cook early

London: England were 35 for 1 in 17 overs till reports last came in. Before that Zaheer Khan trapped Aliastair Cook plumb in front in the 11th over with England just 19 on the board. Captain Andrew Strauss and Jonathan Trott were on the field and weathering a tough patch of swing bowling. The match began half an hour late as slight drizzle delayed the start of play. Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and choose to bowl first in overcast morning conditions. Praveen Kumar and Suresh Raina were preferred over Sreesanth and Yuvraj.

Squads for the game:

England 1 Alastair Cook, 2 Andrew Strauss (capt), 3 Jonathan Trott, 4 Kevin Pietersen, 5 Ian Bell, 6 Eoin Morgan, 7 Matt Prior (wk), 8 Graeme Swann, 9 Stuart Broad, 10 James Anderson, 11 Chris Tremlett.

India 1 Abhinav Mukund, 2 Gautam Gambhir, 3 Rahul Dravid, 4 Sachin Tendulkar, 5 VVS Laxman, 6 Suresh Raina, 7 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 8 Harbhajan Singh, 9 Zaheer Khan, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 Praveen Kumar.