Sachin, Sehwag, Gavaskar and Kapil in ICC’s Dream Test Team

Dubai: Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar, Pocket Dynamite Virendra Sehwag, Little Master Sunil Gavaskar and 1983 World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev has been chosen in the ICC’s All Time Test Eleven. Cricket lovers from across the world cast more than 2.5 lakh votes this month to choose their Greatest Test team of all time.

Fans were asked to choose 2 openers, 3 middle order batsman, 1 all-rounder, 1 wicket-keeper, 1 spinner and 3 fast bowlers out of the 60 shortlisted players. Four Australians, four Indians, two West Indians and one Pakistani have been named in the people's' Dream XI.

Fans voted on the ICC's official website,, using a short list provided by the game's governing body, to pick their leading eleven, as part of the activities to commemorate the 2000th Test Match, which will begin at Lord's between England and India on Thursday.

Fans favoured modern players: Haroon Lorgat

ICC Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat reflected on the whole procedure and said that the current day fans favoured choosing contemporary players. "Selecting from such greats is no easy job, and not surprisingly, the selection mainly reflects modern players seen by present day supporters. There are many greats from the past who would have easily merited selection in this team, but it is nevertheless interesting to see the fans view on their greatest eleven of all time," said Haroon Lorgat.

"It would have been quite special to see this team take the field of play given the array of batting and bowling talent contained within the playing eleven,” he added

The Dream Team is as follows:

Virender Sehwag

Sunil Gavaskar

Donald Bradman

Sachin Tendulkar

Brian Lara

Kapil Dev

Adam Gilchrist (wk)

Shane Warne

Wasim Akram

Curtly Ambrose

Glenn McGrath

No comments:

Post a Comment